Colorado’s Fourteeners Giveaway Contest

There is nothing quite like standing on top of a 14,000 foot peak, otherwise known as a “Colorado fourteener.” The awe-inspiring views and the feeling of being on top of the world among dozens of Colorado peaks will take your breath away, literally. And you can’t help but feel incredibly grateful.

Castle Peak

Top of Castle Peak in the fog

I started hiking fourteeners with my Dad when I was 14 years old, and I remember something about each and every experience. Over the years, I’ve collected many different memories in the Colorado Rockies. I’ve been surrounded by loose, scary boulders the size of school buses on Snowmass Peak, wondering how the heck we were going to get ourselves, and our dog, to the peak. I climbed Castle Peak in the spring with my snowboard strapped to my back and glided back down the mountain on my board.

Snowmass Peak

Among the boulders on Snowmass Peak

When we reached the top of Mount Massive a few years ago, there was so much fog that it was hard to know whether we were on top of a fourteener or at the beach in San Francisco. For a few minutes we were upset that couldn’t see the view you long for when you climb a fourteener—but a few moments later we watched as the fog slowly drifted down the mountainside and away from the peak. I’ve climbed two fourteeners in one day—Mt. Belford and Mt. Oxford (and you can climb a third peak in the same day if you head over to Mt. Missouri). It’s a wonderful feeling when you reach the top —you revel in the silence, the solitude, and the high-altitude bliss.The list of adventures goes on and the stories are always fun to share…

Mount Massive

Mt. Massive

Right now it’s the dead of winter in Colorado, however, and most of us are not out checking-off 14,000 foot peaks (unless you’re Chris Davenport). But reading through the recently published Colorado’s Fourteeners, Third Edition: From Hikes to Climbs (Fulcrum Publishing, 978-1-55591-746-3, $22.95), has gotten me amped-up to start planning my summer and deciding which fourteeners I’ll tackle this year. Whether you’ve never climbed a fourteener or you are a seasoned climbing veteran, Colorado’s Fourteeners is a book every hiker should have in his or her backpack. In the newly revised edition of this best-selling guide, mountaineering legend Gerry Roach includes everything you could possibly need to plot out your hike, with detailed route descriptions, topographic maps, GPS coordinates, trailhead information, and much, much more. And there are dozens of color photographs of the peaks, which helps give some perspective on what you are getting yourself into.

As a way to help our readers get through the long Colorado winter, we are giving away a copy of Colorado’s Fourteeners, Third Edition: From Hikes to Climbs! To enter the contest, send us your best Colorado fourteener story—whether it’s a tidbit about your favorite fourteener, your scariest incident on a fourteener, a funny fourteener story, or any memory you may have. We will pick our favorite story from the bunch and one lucky reader will receive a free copy of Colorado’s Fourteeners. Send us your story by commenting on this post, or email brynn@fulcrumbooks.com by February 24!

Click here for more information on Colorado’s Fourteeners.

About fulcrumpublishing
Founded in 1984, Fulcrum Publishing is one of the largest independent publishers in the country, with more than 450 active titles. The company maintains a high standard of quality and pride in its books, with the objective of encouraging readers to live life to the fullest and learn something new each day. Fulcrum Publishing specializes in general-interest nonfiction titles with focuses in public policy, education, Native American culture and history, travel and outdoor recreation, environmentalism, and gardening. Fulcrum is headquartered in Golden, Colorado. The Fulcrum Publishing blog is run and updated by Dani Perea. Please feel free to get in touch with any questions, comments, or ideas by e-mailing her at Dani[at]fulcrumbooks[dot com].

5 Responses to Colorado’s Fourteeners Giveaway Contest

  1. Bryan Blalock says:

    I believe we all have defining moments in our lives that set us on the course towards our destiny. Starting back at the age of 13 i began to climb mountains on the Appalachian Trail in the Southeast. At age 15 i started researching the fourteener’s. Long’s Peak immediately jumped out at me. Being skinny as a rail and having the self esteem of an ant, i began to take on this tough challenge. That year i flew to the rockies to climb it. The first time i saw it i was scared to death. I started the hike at 1am and was completely exhausted by the time i reached chasm junction. That was as far as i made it that year. I flew home with my head and spirit down but with a small flame burning on my inside. I came home and used that flame to train and add on 25 pounds of muscle to my frame. One year later i went to give it another shot. Climbing with a heavy pack i reached boulder field in a vicious thunderstorm. The following morning i began to climb towards the keyhole. Once i peeked over the keyhole ridge, my knees went limp from the exposure factor. I couldn’t believe what i saw, a layer of solid ice on the ledges as far as i could see. My trip had came to an abrupt end again. I flew home highly disappointed! But the mountain flame was blazing inside me. I trained harder than ever for my next attempt. When the time came for me to return, i weighed 50 pounds more than i did on my first attempt but it was all muscle. On August 12, 2000 my boots crossed over the final step of the homestretch and with that a defining moment in my life was born. Longs Peak has given me a strength that has continued to grow and carry me to the heights of my new goals. I have since climbed Longs again, 10 other 14ters, Mount Rainier, received a 2ND degree black belt in martial arts, and 2 college degrees. I give all the credit to the Mountain known as Longs Peak, for that is the place my strength was born.

  2. thomas lunt says:

    I decided to do my first 14er by my self. I went with friends before then on 7 previous 14ers before that with good gps and trail know how. I was very cocky and thought their was nothing to it. i went all the way to Georgetown to try mount bier-stat from the ganela pass area and found out it was closed. I drove to mount evans since the only other way was to far away. I tried to do birstat from the sawtooth range. It was too late in afternoon. The afternoon storms were starting and i could see lightning in the distance. I decided to come back the next day. I thought it would be nothing. I climbed on the sawtooth range with no gps and no water. I went off the trail and found my self in unclimbable terrain. Nothing that i was used to. I fell from 40 feet. The only thing that saved me was my backside hit the cliff and rocks down on the fall. I landed on my feet but spraining both ankles, and ripping my pants on the rock. If i wouldn’t of landed on my feet i wouldn’t be living to tell. I was nervous and stood there for half an hour before i found the courage to go back. I was very nervous but knew i had to get off of mountains before storms. I called girlfriend to tell location just in case i couldn’t make it. Since both my ankles were killing me, and i could barely walk. I made it out, but i learned some things in the mean time. Always have gps and know surroundings, and never guess on what you may think may be a trail. Also take a few precautions and bring extra gear, and until i get more comfortable don’t hike by self. I was cocky and thought i could do anything but that day the mountain humbled me!!!

  3. Jorge Gonzalez says:

    Well, my Colorado 14er stories are limited as I only started this past summer and have bagged 9 so far. My 1st one was Bierstadt and I was able to bag the highest one in Elbert, but want to talk about my last one of the summer I did – La Plata via the SW ridge route. I initially started this quest because I wanted to prove to myself I could hike the highest mountain in Colorado after quitting smoking a year ago as of right now. Now, the obsession has gone from bagging the tallest mountain to doing them all. In terms of La Plata, it was by far the hardest one I did last year. Starting at the 4wd trailhead and hiking up through the marshes around 12,000 it was easy up to that point, then the 1st steep set up switchbacks taking my friend and I up about 800 feet of elevation gain was a challenge, but it was nice to get up it as it flattened off and lead us to a boulder field on a steep long hill. About halfway up I was saying a few choice words and wanted to quit, but then we ran into a girl who had lost her way and couldn’t find the route. With a little water break & exploring we saw some cairns and kept heading up and then reached the top of the hill and I felt an amazing feeling of progress going up this hill that was close to a 1000 feet of elevation gain. At that point I thought we were really close to the summit only to see that we still probably had about 400 more feet of elevation gain of scrambling to do with 2 more false summits. At that point I told myself, that I already came up the steepest and hardest part and that I couldn’t turn around. About 45 minutes later I was standing on the summit with incredible views of elbert, massive, missouri, belford, oxford, huron, the 3 apostles, the Aspen 14ers and more. At that point after nearly 5 hours of climbing I did a couple of celebratory jumping jacks and shouted almost at the top of my lungs. What a feeling. And now even though that was definitely a harder hike/climb (not that much exposure, just hard) and I know that there are numerous ones out there even harder, I’m obsessed with finding a way to do them all. I don’t plan on doing them all this summer or even in the next two, but definitely want to make progress and hopefully finish off all the sawatch 14ers in the next 2 years and plan on starting the beautiful san juans this year. After my experiences of this last year and how much peace & beauty the mind can achieve on all these hikes/climbs, I can only imagine how I would feel if I climbed something harder like Sneffels, Castle, Holy Cross, Longs, the Sangre de Cristos, the bells, etc.

  4. Jeff Doran says:

    The main hiking objective of our trip out west this past summer was to summit Quandary Peak in central Colorado. At 14,265 feet, Quandary is the 13th highest peak in Colorado, and the highest mountain in the Tenmile Range.

    The peak’s name comes from a group of miners who were unable to identify a mineral sample found on its slopes in the 1860s. The group was in a quandary over the exact nature of the mineral, and ended up naming the mountain from which it came, “Quandary Peak.”

    Arriving at the trailhead near Hoosier Pass that morning, the temperature gauge read a chilly 36 degrees. After a long and very hot summer, this was a bit of a shock to the system.

    Although it’s a relatively short hike, and has less elevation gain when compared to other Fourteeners, the trail still packs a punch. Much of the climbing occurs in two relatively short sections. One climbs 1300 feet over a 0.9-mile section roughly midway through the hike. The second climbs 1100 feet during the final 0.8-mile push to the top.

    By the time we arrived at the summit the sun was already high in the sky, making the thin air feel relatively warm.

    Although the views from the summit were quite spectacular, the highlight of the hike was coming face to face with a family of mountain goats. We first saw them from a distance hanging around the pathway several hundred yards up the trail. However, as we got closer, although curious, they didn’t move. In fact, the largest Billie (male goat) decided to lay down on the trail just as we got close enough to look into his eyes.

    You could say that we were now “in a quandary” as to what to do next. We were just about to go off trail and walk around the road block, but noticed a group of hikers approaching from behind us. The sight of their dog provided the motivation for the goats to finally move out.

    Although the goats were at least walking again, they stayed on or near the trail, not allowing us to pass on this narrow ridgeline. This went on for several minutes until another group of hikers approached from above, prompting the goats to move off the trail. We were finally able to safely pass, and got about a quarter of a mile away from the goats when we decided to take a quick bathroom, food and drink break. Because we were still on that same narrow ridge, we were only just off the trail at this point.

    After sitting down on a rock for a couple of minutes we noticed the goats moving again. The large male, the same ram that plopped down on the trail earlier, was making a direct bee line towards us. I told my wife to get moving as quickly as possible. She was already up the trail when I was finally able to get my backpack together and hurriedly moved out as the goat got to within 75 feet of me. It was the last time we saw the goats.

    The scary part of this story was finding out just a couple of weeks after returning from this trip, that a hiker was gored to death by a mountain goat in Olympic National Park. Next time, we’ll know not to get as close as we did.

  5. Randy Templeton says:

    I started climbing the 14ers in 1990, I have climbed 15 so far, along with my father. The first and hardest one I have climbed is Long’s Peak, but the most memorable is Mt Harvard. When my oldest son was 15 years old, he decided he wanted to get one under his belt. My father, son, and I chose to climb Harvard. We love camping, so we made a three-day trip out of it, camping at a beautiful campsite at tree-line. I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in 2002, two years prior to this trip. I am visually impaired, with infrequent dizziness and balance problems. We made it to camp the first day, but later that evening I had some altitude sickness/MS-caused fatigue. I felt horrible. All kinds of thoughts were racing through my mind. Would we have to cancel the climb? What if we rested the next day and summited the third, and then hike out? Should my father and my son continue without me? I went to bed early, got up the next morning and felt great. We hit the trail and summited Harvard. I was so proud of my son, and my father, who was 68 at the time. Three generations, standing on the top of the third highest peak in Colorado was awesome.

Leave a Reply

