The BEST Fulcrum Books for Summer Reading

Here are our recommendations (unbiased, of course) for some great reads this summer. And, if you make it all the way to the bottom, you’ll find the CUTEST-ever picture of a Jack Russell Terrier puppy, who will soon be our company mascot. Happy reading!


Smaldone: The Untold Story of an American Crime Family. I don’t read a lot of nonfiction outside of work, so it’s rare for me to recommend a nonfiction book. But Dick Kreck is so talented at doing all the researching and getting a full picture of the story that by the time he puts it all on paper, it almost reads like fiction. He’s a great writer, and who can resist a good mob story? I particularly love that some of the events in the book happened less than a mile from our office. Just makes it that much more real for me.

—Haley Berry, editorial and production manager

This summer, I added Alan Geoffrion’s Broken Trail to my pile o’ to-reads. The book is dripping with western tropes that I love: the grizzled ol’ cowpoke who decides to do one last drive, the young whippersnapper trying to prove himself, old-timey cowboy lingo with lotsa abbreviatin’, and sporting women. The book was also adapted into a TV movie by AMC, which is available on Netflix, and Thomas Haden Church is in it! Love him, and the man can act his way out of a paper bag like no other; he’s totally unappreciated in his time—I loved him as the baddies in George of the Jungle and Spiderman 3. (SPOILER ALERT: He marries a gorilla and is a villain who is made out of sand but who has a *sniff* tender heart for his ailing child.) But I digress, this is a good ol’ cowboy read for an afternoon on a sunny porch, with a bottle o’ whiskey at yer side.

—Dani Perea, sales and marketing associate

This summer, I plan to read Old Fences, New Neighbors by Peter R. Decker. A longtime Fulcrum staffer recommended this beautiful book of essays to me, and I’m glad that she did. The essays focus on the town of Ouray, Colorado, one of the most isolated places in the American West and definitely one of the most stunning western towns I have ever visited. For the past several years, I’ve driven through Ouray County on the way to Silverton ski area, a small, remote, and challenging ski destination in the San Juan Mountains. The dramatic jagged peaks that box in the tiny and quirky mountain town of Ouray nearly take your breath away, and it’s no wonder this town has been nicknamed the Switzerland of America.

—Brynn Flaherty, marketing assistant

July already?! Summer for me is a chance for adventure. I’m headed out this week for another dose of Zion NP and hopefully a calmer experience of the Narrows. The last time I hiked it, I started off very relaxed, wading down the river, taking it all in. Four hours later, I had yet to see the first landmark on my map. I ended up camping outside of my designated campsite, a major faux pas, when I simply ran out of light. I consider myself lucky nothing worse happened. It wasn’t not so much that I didn’t do any research, I just had a misguided expectation of the scope of it all.

With that in mind, I keep turning to Voices of the American West when people ask for an entry point for the western experience. Corinne has tracked down so many of the people currently shaping the West that I challenge you to not find it interesting. Unbiased and quite honestly all over the place, one can read about the future of ski country with global warming, three sides to wolf policy, and the inspiration for The Monkey Wrench Gang.

Oh, I forgot to mention, I’m coming back with a new puppy.

His name is Fitz, but Scowly might be more fitting. It looks like I might not get out much after this, so if you have other recommendations involving books and the West, leave a comment.

—Jack Lenzo, designer

About fulcrumpublishing
Founded in 1984, Fulcrum Publishing is one of the largest independent publishers in the country, with more than 450 active titles. The company maintains a high standard of quality and pride in its books, with the objective of encouraging readers to live life to the fullest and learn something new each day. Fulcrum Publishing specializes in general-interest nonfiction titles with focuses in public policy, education, Native American culture and history, travel and outdoor recreation, environmentalism, and gardening. Fulcrum is headquartered in Golden, Colorado. The Fulcrum Publishing blog is run and updated by Dani Perea. Please feel free to get in touch with any questions, comments, or ideas by e-mailing her at Dani[at]fulcrumbooks[dot com].

Leave a Reply

